Life, Fiber, Books and All











{February 3, 2008}   Addictions? Games? Attempted Suicide and College with a Heavy dose of Fiber!

So, the new semester hass started, I’ve actually had classes. Which was and is very exciting. I think I like my online classes. Definitly the library science class. Its very interesting so far, and i get to interveiw one of my favorite people. Of course I only know them through their blog. But they defintily amuse me, life me up and all that jazz! So, I will be interviewing The Happy Villian (http://ifirantheuniverse.blogspot.com/). It should ber interesting. Or at least I hope it will be.

I can say absolutly that I SUCK at contour line drawings. I did when I was 7 years old, when I was 13 years old and I still do now that I’m 21 years old. I don’t know what I thought would have changed that. I mean I have taken private art classes from the same marvolous person (Pat B) since I was 7, and I have produced some very nice drawings and wonderful paintings. But really, that is absolotuly no reason to think I might be good at soemthing I’ve always sucked at. And of course the professor insists that contour line drawings are the most important thing to be able to do as an artist so well be spending the first few weeks on them. This is going on week 4 now. And there is no end in sight!

On the unther hand I am really enjoying the 2-d design class. Its interesting. And I’ve always liked the idea just lines and shapes can convey things. We rarly think about it that much. We do think of pictures as peaceful, energetic, chaotic and what not. But its interesting to learn why and how and all.

Onto suicide, my car is attempting to commit it. Isabella went into the shop for an oil change and an inspection so I can register or reregister her. $1000 later she’s home. However now she has a bit of a tilt or slight curve to the right. Which isn’t very nice at all!

 I dropped my College Algebra class. I just didn’t have enough time between two art classes (at least 3 hours of homework each) and 2 online classes. However I have kept the book so Dad and I can work on it, and I can take the class this summer. I was sad to drop it, its my first dropped class. And I am no longer a full time student as I need 12 credit hours and I’m only getting 11. One of the online classes in only a two credit class.

 On the spinning front, I have actually been doing it. I finished spinning up this batt:

gladrial-grey-batt-2.jpg

It was purchased from The Enchated Knoll (http://farm-witch.blogspot.com/) at the Common Ground Fair. I really enjoyed spinning it. It was soft and lushious and it didn’t matter that it was a grey because it was so soft and lushious and pretty! However I do have to take issue with the amount of neps and noils in the batt. One whole end was unusable unless I wanted a textured yarn. I wanted a smooth soft yarn.

I purchased two batts and spun 1 batt per bobbin. And of coruse lost the end of one yarn in the bobbin, cut the yarn and lost about half of what I spun. So then I spun up the rest of the batt extra thin (think serious lace thread). And of course ended up having more of that extra fine so I ended up having to andean ply the end of that. Anway, its lovely and very “energized” but will be heavenly once finished.

I took pics of all my batts and roving and everything. And I uploaded everything I could for January onto Flickr. I am very happy that I remembered to upload all 100mgbits r whatever they are. However all I did get up was some spun yarn and bought roving. Which ins’t bad at all. Now I just need to label it all and upload to ravelry, which will be fun but long.

So fiber. I really want to spin a funky and fun yarn for #5 Yarn challenge. You can check out PluckyFluff’s blog (http://pluckyfluff1.livejournal.com/)  the Yarn Museum (http://www.theyarnmuseum.com/). I absolotuly love Holly EQQ’s fibers. And I’ve been through alot of aweful things with docs. Thankfully my parents have always been there and when things started I was still a minor and still in high school, so finances with health have never bothered me. I don’t want to……….. Anyway. “Circle the Wagon” reminds me of the Laura Ingles Wilder books my Dad read to me when I was little. Or those book when indians raid the wagon train and steal the girl with blond hair and raise her as their own. But she escapes or something or other. I can see lots of fades cotton prints and ginham, blue skys and clouds, murky rivers, tin cups and plates, rifles, camp fires and the brown Constantine (?) wagons with the white canvas cover, plus the dusty trails and wide sweaping grass lands.

I’d really love to do a coil yarn, sort of the “gathering round” bit. I think it would be cool to do flames and fire, sort of the campfire with the coiling. But it might be a bit dull. Anyway, I did upload a bunch of possible batts to the photo thing. But its 1:50 am and I’ll get back to that.

Addictions- well I’ve been accused of them. Not like heroin or something like that. No. Not even an intentional addiction. However doc’s did try and blame my health problems on the drugs that THEY prescribed me to help cure or stop the problem. So then they would slowly ween me off the drg so I didn’t have any bad side affects. Of course it turned out the drugs they didn’t like me on helped, and the ones they insisted were perfect and whatever actually hurt me. But whatever. Doc’s can be such asses! Don’t get me wrong I’ve had a few good ones. But for the most part I can unaquivically say they are selfrightious prigs that don’t know anything and don’t listen to the people they are supposed to be helping. Not that I have an opinion or anything! 😉

Onto addictiosn and games. I happen to be both. Now you already know I play EL. And its fun and I love the people,a nd I haven’t had time to play lately. However I did find “Flight of the Hampsters” (http://www.digyourowngrave.com/flight-of-the-hamsters/) from The Yarn Harlots blog (http://www.yarnharlot.ca/blog/). Bad! Not only have I played this by myself (and just got my hightest score yet or 719ft total and 238ft for a single) but with my Dad and my MUM. Yes! With Mum! Which is absolotuly fabulous as she ins’t much of a game person. And additionally I’ve even turned the sound on, it really makes the game more fun.

 So, my warning. It seems like a dumb game, it is. But its also alot of fun once you get the hang of it. Take turns with the family and see who can get the highest score. My tips:

1) Click to hit the hamster with the pillow on his way down.

2) There is more “stuff” in the air closer to the ground. I tend to stay about where the yellow and orange meet in the sky.

3) If the hampster is headed straigh down pray you hit a ball or a spring. Otherwise its the end of the run. He will hit the ground, you cannot pull him out of his dive.

4) The pink balls will bounce, but not very high. The yellow balls bounce much higher.

5) The “Glide meter” is on the top right corner. If full you have that much glide power. It will empty as you hold the mouse key down. It will refill as you just glide or whatever.

6) If you hit a rocket it speads you forward. The spin things either lift you up slightly or send you high into the sky.

7) The skate boards don’t do much. However if you have hit one on the run and then hit the ground (not straight down, more at a skid) and bounce he should pull it out and you will slide a few more feet.

8) Again, its not about gaining hight, more about moving forward. Hit as much “stuff” as you can. Preferably the balls and the rockets.

The other games that have kept me up until 2:04am now? “Bloons Tower Defense 2” (http://www.digyourowngrave.com/bloons-tower-defense-2/). This was loads of fun and I played it for an hour or two tonight with Dad. Neither of us meant to play it. I just wanted to see what it was, and he stopped to see what I was doing.

So, my tips for this game?:

1) Use the Dart Monkey and first to piercing dart and second long range.

2) If you have to use the “spikes” or “monkey glue” then you need to put up more towers.

3) Towers are your friend. They are a long term investamnt. They suck up alot of money to start. But they pay you back loads.

4) Spikes seem like a really good idea, they’re so much cheaper. But they eat up your money before you know soemthing hit you!

5) This is a game of stratagey. Do not be afraid to start over having learned from your mistakes.

6) Put the towers in the corners. And save up for the Cannon towers. They’ll come in handy around the 25th level.

Okay, very strange, ALL of the dogs and animals outside are howling all of a sudden. Its 2:ll am.

I have to go check out whats happening. Night all,

Here’s a pick of Hazel sweet:

picture-242.jpg

Leave a Reply

et cetera
